Am I misguided? MT non-resident tag cost.

kingfisher

Lil-Rokslider
I am a resident of Montana. When I initially went to college here years ago, it become apparent that many things in Montana are special in part due to a hesitation to cheapen things for non-residents. And it even seems Montana tries to protect opportunities for residents, in part by high charging non-residents. I benefit from this and in large part agree with it.

If my brothers draw a elk/deer combo tag, they are coming to Montana to hunt this year at a cost of $1100 per person for the licenses. As someone who cherishes hunting with my brothers, I wish this were different. My brothers typically hunt Colorado as NR, and can do so paying 600 for an elk permit. This year they want to hunt with me here in MT, which is a rare opportunity. I know Alaska allows special privileges to family members of residents. I am not sure at what cost. I suppose my biggest justification for my dissatisfaction is that hunting is typically rooted in family traditions, and that it pains me a bit that license cost limits the ability to keep that family tradition going. I wish states would reduce the cost of licenses for family members of residents, to make it easier for them to hunt together.

Do you feel that I am off base in thinking that states should make it easier for family members living in differing states to hunt together. I am not sure if I am changing my beliefs to suit my needs, or if there is something to this. Anyone have any arguments or beliefs for or against this.

RdRdrFan

WKR
I refuse to apply for elk or mule deer in Montana because the system sucks and is crazy expensive. I’m not someone who is afraid to lay money out there. I ran the numbers last week and I will end up with around $27k out there in app fees in most western states. I’ll get most of it back but approximately $2k stays out there even if I don’t draw anything.