85 grain broad head for elk

I've been using an 85 grain fixed NAP broad head for whitetail for a few years now with good results. I'm wondering if anyone out there has experience using that grain head (or 100 grain heads) for elk. It would be nice to use my same set-up through the year for both species. I'd be curious to hear your experience if you have. Thanks!

elkguide

WKR
An elk is a LOT tougher than a whitetail.
My experience leads me to a fixed blade head and a minimum weight of 100 grains. I use 100 grain heads for everything except elk and then I switch to a 125 grain head.

Trial153

WKR
total arrow weight will trump broadhead weight. so were missing a big peice of the equation to answer the question.

oldgoat

WKR
15grs weight difference is the negligible part of the equation, how tough is the head and what's your total arrow weight. Having seen what elk bones do to broadheads, I personally wouldn't go with that light of head mainly because of durability.

Bill V

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
What is your total arrow weight and FOC? You can probably switch to a 100 grain head with the same arrow, increase your total arrow weight and FOC, and have some higher strength broadhead options.

OP
darcytribe
Hi Bill,

Well after posting this thread I found your iron will broad head thread and have been reading some reviews and perusing your website. I believe I may just go with your 100 gr. heads and call it a day. I believe that should work for both species. I shoot a gold-tip 400 velocity arrow and 27.5 inch length and 85 gr. broad heads currently. That set up is the fastest combo for my bows specs.

I know several have already asked but I believe you could get quite an order going with a group buy here on Rokslide or possibly a short lived- discount. I would probably but 6 to start. Any chance of that in the near future Bill?

Beendare

WKR
I've seen elk killed with 85 gr BH's on a short arrow from a bow with an over draw.