Thick brush hunting?

Cdpp880

WKR
I am new to elk hunting!!! Went on a hunt last year in Utah but did not have a tag, just scouted for my buddy’s that did and learned the area. Any way I am going back this year with a tag and had a few questions. Last year I found an area with an absolutely enormous amount of elk sign in an area that was very thick. This spot was up pretty high and well away from any roads and I believe it to be where they go to hide. I know there were plenty of elk in there (heard plenty and tons of very fresh sigh). But the entire mountain is so thick. Like farthest visibility on the entire mountain was around 70yards. Hunt will be in October and I have been told by guys that have hunted the area that they will not respond to calling that time of year. How would y’all recommend hunting an area like this.
Thanks

Find a frequently used route of travel. Maybe a good fork where multiple game trails connect on a saddle. Find out what the winds like and you can sit it with good wind direction. Water can work too, but I usually assume water is being pressured by other hunters.

A camera is a good investment for this to get a read of when elk cross areas.

The calling is an interesting one. You can for sure call some elk in any time of the year if it makes them curious enough. They can be rutting hard in October. No doubt that you can call a bull in with the right approach and even more so in thick country. Just always play the wind.

They're loud animals, so you can get away with a lot of noise. You'd be amazed how close you can walk to an elk snapping sticks and cow calling.

I'd 1. pick a new state or just use Utah as a backup. Go to CO or MT or ID. Utah general is just bad, about as bad as it gets for general hunts. Lower success rates, smaller bulls, and more hunters IME and talking to Utah hunting buddies.