Elk rifle in bear country

Teaman1

WKR
I've done quite a bit of reading on the subject but was wondering if any of you change your elk hunting rifle when around grizzlies. Seems that most people don't think a grizz is going to be stopped without a CNS hit, so wouldn't a 30-06 with tough bullets be just as good as a 338 if you don't brain or spine them. 338 might kill quicker but it doesn't take them long to work a guy over. Been looking into some grizzly areas in Montana, Idaho, and Wyoming so I'm just looking for some opinions since I have little experience on the big fuzzies.

OP
Teaman1

Teaman1

WKR
I should add that from what I've read, bear spray is statistically the best defense. Camp smart and be careful seem to be best advice for avoiding a run in. Just wondering on weapon choices

philos

Super Moderator
Staff member
Elk are tough animals so base your choice of rifle on that first unless you simply want to buy more than one gun. I use a 338 WM because it will likely bring down an elk faster than a smaller, caliber will-----all else being equal.
I won't lie, I do like that it has the punch to hammer a bear if I have to use it but you do have to hit it right to stop them immediately. No commercial available caliber will anchor a bear if you don't hit it well but the idea to me seems to be to slow it down so you can hit it with a mortal shot if need be.

I believe in using the largest caliber you can shoot confidently and accurately on elk. If that is a 30-06 then use that if it as a 458 then use that. When I was out fishing near Dubois this Summer I had a 12 gauge shotgun with slugs and buckshot which is-in my opinion-a great short distance stopper but certainly not something I would elk hunt with.

Many folks will buy a pistol for bear medicine-that might make some folks sleep better and something you might want to consider if you have concerns.