Colorado elk 15 points

I have been building points for 15 years and I’m wondering what units I can draw with archery or rifle and have a good opportunity at 320 to 350 class bulls

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
It took all of about 2 minutes to see what units you could draw with 15 points. Unit 76 looks like your best option. Your going to have to scout and learn the unit well to find the class of bull your after.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

mixed bag

FNG
First rifle season in unit 49.Doubtful you'll find a 350 class but a 300-320 is probable with some effort.Very few 1st season hunters in the unit.May have a better shot at a big bull in muzzleloader there

Beendare

WKR
Ive hunted 76 and i would be shocked if you see a 350 bull in there. 320 is doable with best odds of getting one: muzzleloader.

Whether you can draw that tag with 15 points, i dunno. .... i would guess its gonna be close

Adubs

FNG
You have plenty of points for unit 40, my bothers, myself, and my dad hunted it with mike Lawson last year and we went 3/4 with the three bulls all right at 330”.

mixed bag

FNG
Unit 40 your pretty much stuck with using an outfitter.Not enough public land to make for a good diy hunt.Muzzleloader in unit 66 is another possible unit you may have some interest in

Reload

Lil-Rokslider
I'll second Unit 40. Mike Lawson is who I will be going with next year when/if I draw. 15 years worth of point building justifies an outfitter IMO. Good luck in the draws

Amazing how bad the point creep in Colorado is. From what’s posted in this thread 15 points will get you a 300-320 inch bull unless you use an outfitter. Then you are looking at a 330” bull.

Pretty sad after 15 years you probably could have lucked into a couple that size in OTC units.

Good luck with whatever hunt up burn your points on. Hopefully you get your 350 bull

5MilesBack

"DADDY"