Bone-in or Boneless?

Firehole Hunter

Lil-Rokslider
Why would anyone not removed the bones out of your quarters prior to packing them out. I am new to this but the extra weight of non-edible parts doesn't make sense to me unless the quarter gets frozen overnight. Help me understand why the bone-in analysis.

Brendan

WKR
Less surface area to get contaminated / dirty before processing. Easier to bone out and clean at home. Some people like to keep leg bones for marrow or for the dog. If you don't have a long pack out and have enough people - it might not result in extra loads.

Around home when hunting whitetail - I can legally bone out a deer where it drops. But, I drag the damn thing out whole every time so I can age it some, and take it apart under more controlled conditions at home.

aion2come

WKR
Another factor is the bees. If you are in Colorado, once you open up the animal's hide, the bees will find you. They can be nasty ... fast! The less time between beginning and end the better.

cnelk

WKR
Time is a factor
Easier to handle w bone in
Weather is factor
Distance is a factor

Start killing a few elk and you'll find your way that works best

I ditch the bone. I refuse to carry out 10-20 extra pounds per load.

Thats just me.

Randy Newberg did a good video on it, as well as the weights. IIRC, an average bull elk rear leg bone weighs 8 lbs. His preference was to leave the bones in as the quarters carry much better, are easier to hang, and you end up with less meat waste.

He did state that if the hike out was particularly long and grueling they would bone them out to save the weight.

If you can remove the bones before rigor the meat with be tender, if not it can be tough, still great tasting. Thats where keeping on the bone is beneficial. Hanging for 24hrs minimum and letting the meat relax it will be go back to being soft. If you pack it out and dry age it for a week or two on the bone, now we're talking.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited: