Going light on the cheap: Savage 16 LWH Review

JDZ

WKR
What rings are those, SEtoNW? DNZ? What height? I like how low they look with the 40 mm glass.

OP
S

SEtoNWHunter

Lil-Rokslider
JDZ,

Yep, those are the DNZ Gamereaper low mounts. Seems just about right for that rifle and scope combo.

OP
S

SEtoNWHunter

Lil-Rokslider
Also an update on progress (or lack thereof):
I took the LWH out again this past weekend and shot it quite a bit. I'm still struggling to get the little bugger to shoot how I'm hoping it would/will. I tried a bunch of different loads and got a lot of inconsistency. I got a few groups right around 2", but still nothing much below that. However there were several much larger groups mixed in including some that were 4"+.

Most of the groups were extremely variable even with the same ammo. Very frustrating... and humbling. I'm pretty confident that the variability was more me than the equipment. I've been shooting and hunting for a long time (25+ years) and I'm usually confident that I can get a rifle to shoot close to its potential... but this rifle doesn't feel like I've gotten it to that point yet.

To reduce possible sources of error, I rechecked stock action screws, and scope mounts and they were all tight and to spec. Before I ever shot the thing, I marked the scope with a pencil to watch for any movement and it hasn't moved a millimeter. I cleaned the bore before this shooting session, and twice during.

My shooting conditions were pretty crappy again, and that played a role for sure. Gusty winds were occasionally strong enough to physically move me and the rifle slightly while shooting. Plus it was COLD and I struggled to keep my hands from going/staying numb.