take my Browning BAR or purchase a Tikka T3x for Newfoundland Moose

Afhunter1

WKR
I've shot a grand total of 1 Moose so I am an expert now according to the internet. A 40"er close to Caribou, Maine in September of 2015. I used my sporter barreled 300 Rum with no brake on it. The moose was 85 yds away standing in some very thick grass and brush. I could only see his neck so I settled the crosshairs just below his ears and squeezed. Moose dropped but I didn't see it due to the recoil of the gun. I then stumbled around the thick grass until I stepped on the moose because the recoil was enough to disorient me slightly. Didn't take but a few minutes to find him but I wasn't exactly sure where he was. I am glad I had my 300 but I'd of rather had my 7mm-08 in this situation to be able to see the animals reaction. I've seen 6 moose shot with rifles and only 1 took a total of 3 steps after being hit with a 243 (girl shooting a cow). Most get very sick very fast, Elk and Deer are much much hardier animals IMO.

My bull was #845 field dressed.

KClark

WKR
You have several good choices but since you have no confidence in the 7-08 it's not an option. The BAR is a fine rifle, I hunted with one for 5 years but gave up on it because the trigger was awful (compared to a bolt rifle) and if the charge handle gets a light bump it will open the bolt slightly so when you pull the trigger all you get is a loud "click".

Since you have future use of a Tikka in 300WM I'd pony up for it, who doesn't need a new rifle once in awhile, but it will probably become your favorite and 'go to' rifle. Good luck with the moose!

KClark

WKR
Most get very sick very fast, Elk and Deer are much much hardier animals IMO.

My Alaskan brother says the same thing. When hit correctly or poorly moose don't have the flight tenacity like an elk that can take a fatal hit and still change zip codes.

Trial153

WKR