Whose Load Data has been closer to reality for you.....powder or bullet manufacturer?

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I always find it odd when I look at a bullet manufacturer's load data and will see maybe 65.5gr max load with a specific powder, then check the powder manufacturer's load data for that bullet and they'll post 63.3gr as MAX load. From your experience, which ones are posting conservative load data info? And then you throw in one of the USA Load Guide books and it's entirely different as well.

I could see some 1/10's of grain differences perhaps, but 2-3gr differences is HUGE.

cooperjd

WKR
i'm a novice reloader and have been noticing the same thing... i find the differences annoying. i have only had a few flattened primers so far, but i think the old '06 might need a gunsmith take a look, as i'm getting flattened primers on a mild factory load as well...

the guy that just posted about his new tikka 7mag has a load that is more than Hodgdon's listed max load for a similar bullet. i'd like for everyone to be close to the same page, not 4gr different!

There is also the deal that the bullet manufactures generally lump all of their bullets of the same weight together. Which is a generalization, because usually one of the bunch will have more or less pressure than the others. A 180 Matchking for instance, does not act at all like a 180 Gameking in my rifle. This can sometimes (not always) lead to the bullet manufacture data being a little more conservative.