Has anybody chopped the barrel of a 375HH?

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
I have a weatherby vanguard 375HH that I want to shorten a bit, I was thinking 20-21" just to make it a bit more maneuverable in heavy brush and to fit into my rifle case which it wind do right now.

Does anybody know how that would hinder the performance of the 375? Has anybody done this?

Thanks!

OP
thinhorn_AK

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Yeah Ive seen the 375 rugers with 20" barrels, I wonder if theres much of a difference between the HH and the Ruger, Im not a ballistics expert or a re loader so hopefully somebody who is can help me out.

AlaskaEd

WKR
I have a 375 Weatherby (kind of like an H&H improved) that I shortened the barrel on. I believe it's 22". You will loose some velocity, but is that really needed with the 375? It's a trade off, you get a lighter and shorter rifle but you get slightly less velocity. Just depends on what you're looking for. I'll take the handiness of a shorter, lighter rifle.

ATX762

Lil-Rokslider
I am having the same debate with myself, FYI. Have a very sweet old 26" Mauser I'm thinking of chopping.

Ballistically you won't lose all that much--the 375 Ruger which has a very slightly larger powder volume but fires the same bullet, does just fine in short barrels.

What's keeping me from chopping is the potential increase in muzzle blast. It's plenty right now at 26" Anyone with a shorty 375 want to weigh in on that issue?

OP
thinhorn_AK

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Im thinking of just going for it, Its got a vx3i 1.5-5x20 on it so its not a long range gun anyways. I know people have used it on plains game before but thats not my intent, I just thought it would make a nice handy gun to carry around, throw in the canoe or whatever, maybe shoot a moose with it.

AlaskaEd

WKR
Sounds like a perfect plan especially with that scope. The Sako Kodiak (even though it's a beautifully built failure of a DG rifle) has a factory 21" barrel.