Tough Bullet Opinions

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
All three would work just fine.

The A Frame is the toughest IMO.

Not on the list but I have a good friend that has shot a pile of moose and elk with a Swift Sciroccos 130s out of his 270 WSM.

ptarmigan

FNG
If I recall from another forum, Luke Moffat and his wife have killed moose and brown bears with the lowly .308 and 180gr factory Federal Fusions fodder. They've worked just fine for me too. Pick the one that shoots good and bring home some meat.

cooperjd

WKR
YEP, all a person has to do is read what Nosler writes in the descriptions of the Partition and Accubond and what they are INTENDED to do when they hit the game intended - I've read that PH stuff before, I'd guess bad shooting had much more to do with the lost game than any poor terminal performance - for the "record" it's more like 40% than 1/2 but I suppose that's splittin' hairs ......

very possible. i'm not arguing for or against them, i have no experience, and merely reporting what i was told. However, those guys also hunt ~10months a year and see a lot of game shot with a lot of equipment, so i feel their opinions may be valid, depending on subject matter.

I've shot TSX from my 7RM for a decade, gonna switch over to accubonds since they shoot better and see how they do. my pops has used A-frames from a 7RUM for a few elk with really good results.

JigStick

WKR
You don't need a 150g bullet for Caribou. I personally would go with a 130g bullet. Specifically the Cutting Edge 135g Rifle Maximus. Your 270wsm is begging for this bullet. perfect application too. Take advantage of that high BC, and devastating expansion.

AXEL

WKR
I have loaded 150 Npts in over a dozen .270win. and a .270Weath, starting in spring 1968. I have shot some animals with it, seen many more killed, including elk and moose, all over BC and one Grizzly, late '60s with the older style.