Reloading help?

20170818_103440.jpg20170726_082643.jpg
Can someone help me out here? I am new to reloading. The left is new brass that I resized and shot once. The right is older brass that has been reloaded 3 times. What is causing this to happen to my brass? Rifle is a M70 Winchester from the 90's that I bought from my uncle 15+ years ago that has been a safe queen it's whole life. Just started shooting it this spring. I am using RCBS dies and the load is 59gr of IMR4831 and 162 eldx's

N2TRKYS

WKR
Excessive headspace. Take it to a gunsmith and have them set the barrel back and rechamber. Or put a new barrel on it.

GKPrice

Banned
excessive headspace - happens commonly - 6 months ago I had 2 NIB 7mm RM's of a well respected company's have it, 3rd was fine

It happens ......

Rolando

FNG
I've seen that from rifles with in-spec headspace but tight bores which caused excessive pressure. How do your primers look?

OP
R
I took it to a retired gunsmith who is a friend of a friend. He didn't have the tool to measure headspace, but he did tape the rear of the case to take up space. On the 3rd piece he felt some resistance. He measured the crushed pieces and came up with about 9 thousandths of space.....

where's that leave him with factory ammo ?

We don't know yet. From what I've read he hasn't tried factory ammo yet. I'm interested in what factory ammo looks like once fired. If factory ammo has a ring after being fired once, then I'd definitely say we have a head space problem.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk