Troubles Zeroing .270

Kcain18

FNG
I had recently bought a Ruger American Rifle in the .270 caliber. A couple weeks ago I went to sight-in my Vortex Crossfire II
3-9x40. I was on paper at 100 yards had a decent grouping before I left the range, went back yesterday after cleaning the rifle and wasn't even close to where I was when I left the range. Same rounds and same grain. I am fairly new to shooting, I would like and very much appreciate any help I can get.

go4thegusto

WKR
Classified Approved
Sometimes stability can be fleeting. I fought my 270 Weatherby for a while. Rebedded it and then ended up cutting an inch off barrel and re-doing the crown. Seemed to fix it. Check the stock and bedding pressure on barrel. Slip a dollar bill in there and see where and how tight it is hitting barrel. Look at crown for imperfections. Could just be the load. Scope is always the first concern. They can shift so I would judge it by group size to see which direction to go.

How are you shooting the rifle at the range? Bags? Bipod? Block? I have seen many inexperienced shooters rest the barrel on bags, then rest the stock on bags, the shoot barrel resting on a block. My point is this. Having the barrel touch anything is a disaster. Shoot it is th same every time. That’s first.

Of course you need to make sure your rings and bases are secure and have not worked lose.

2 thoughts...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

OP
K

Kcain18

FNG
I had a block with a bag on top, stock was resting on bag not the barrel also a bag under the but of the stock for stability. I'm considering getting a bipod for the rifle but am undecided.

If that gun came from factory with the scope mounted , id start by double checking every screw on it , especially rings and bases

OP
K

Kcain18

FNG
If that gun came from factory with the scope mounted , id start by double checking every screw on it , especially rings and bases