Which large caliber?

FlyGuy

WKR
Archery hunting is much more of a passion for me than rifle, but I've been itching to get a new rifle for a few years now. Since I've never been a rifle guy I'm looking for some advice on the caliber selection for my next purchase.

For starters - I don't reload. God knows the last thing I need is another hobby. I also don't spend a lot of time out at the range, 2-3 times a year is about average for me.

I hunt as many critters as I can. Annually, that list would include: Whitetail, pigs, Axis, Nilgai and (starting this Spring) Black Bear. Elk is usually an Archery Hunt but I have rifle hunted them in the past and I’m sure I will again in the future. Antelope and Mule deer have not yet been targets but will be in the next few years. The rest of my “Want to Hunt” list is pretty much everything else, though mostly limited by points/tag draw odds: Aoudad, Oryx, Moose, Goats, Caribou, all the sheep...

I currently have one "do it all" big game rifle - a Ruger Mark II M77 in 7mag that I've owned for 27 years. It’s stainless/composite and has an old 4x12 40mm Leupold on it. It weighs in at 8lbs complete, and it shoots very well. I have it zeroed at 330 yards with Hornady 162 gr precision hunter ammo, which gives me essentially point and shoot (+/- 5”) out to 400 yards. I am comfortable shooting at game inside of 400 yards in ideal conditions, but I don’t practice enough to shoot at anything but paper or pigs out past that. I really like this gun and I have no plans to sell it. It does everything I need it to do in a fairly lightweight package and without too much recoil. So, I’ve been stuck trying to come up a rifle that I liked any better than what I already have.

I've been contemplating this dilemma for a few years now. Then last week I had an Epiphany. Maybe instead of adding just one new rifle, what I really needed was TWO new rifles! One smaller, one larger. Once I came to that realization things started becoming a lot clearer.