7mm-08 & 7mm Remington Magnum and 338 Federal & 338 Winchester Magnum

Looking to add two Tikkas in the calibers listed above. One would be set up for mountain deer hunting (7mm-08 or 7mm Remington Magnum) and the second would be set up for mountain big game (elk, moose) (338 Federal or 338 Winchester Magnum).

I don't expect I would ever shoot at a game animal beyond 400 meters and frankly probably not even that far. I have lots of experience with the 308 family of cartridges (own a 243 and 308 Battue), where they have proven to be reliable killers of game in the short range hunting of the eastern woods.

Is the extra "oomph" of the magnum calibers worth the recoil/muzzle blast over the 308 family cartridges at the ranges I would consider ethically shooting? I've read the ballistics tables, but would appreciate hearing from hunters who actually hunt in the wide open spaces of the west.

desertcj

WKR
7mm Rem Mag if you can just have one rifle. 7mm-08 and .338 Win mag would be a nice combo. Personally, I shoot a 7mm-08 and a 7mm Rem Mag. I don't see a huge need for a
338 unless you are really, really into elk hunting. I mean, I'm more interested in killing an elk with a bow! Pretty sure a 7mag is enough...lol.

N2TRKYS

WKR
BuzzH kills the heck out of elk with his 7-08 and 140 grain Accubonds at 400 yards. I'd be hard pressed to not just buy a 7-08 and save the money on a second rifle setup.

howl

WKR
You probably have an ~7# 12 gauge. Go get a box of 2oz 1200fps turkey loads. Set it up on a bench on sand bags like a rifle. Take five carefully aimed shots and follow through with your eyes wide open.

If the thought of doing that again fills you with dread, stick with .308 class. If you don't see what the big deal is, magnums are for you. If you're indecisive, then the heavy 270 WSM, 30/06 class is more likely.

AXEL

WKR