Rifle choice under $1000

huntdoc

FNG
Reading a lot of discussions has my head spinning. I'm new to all of this and want to start with a simpler approach. Pretty sure I want to go with a 308 as a do it all caliber for now. Easily available ammo, something I can handle, and covers deer and elk that I hope to pursue. Probably go with stainless barrel and synthetic stock. What is best gun out there for under $1000? Not including scope. Looking for lots of opinions, throw in factors like weight, quality of trigger, etc. What is important?

Hard to beat the tried and true performance and building capabilities of a Remington 700. On the opposite end the Ruger American seems to be by all means a solid rifle for hunting especially the American predator models and it’s really affordable allowing money to spent on great glass

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Snowy

Lil-Rokslider
What is important? It has to go bang every time in every condition. It has to hold zero. The rest is mostly ergonomic preference and fluff. Give me a used stainless Tikka T3 in a Manners stock for that price point, but there are other great options.

N2TRKYS

WKR
Budsgunshop.com has Remington Model Seven SS in 308 for $622 with free shipping. I bought this rifle in a 7-08 today. Drop in a Timney trigger for about $125, a scope of your choice(mine will wear a Leupold VX3i 3.5-10x40), and it will sit in Talley lightweight rings. You can replace the stock, if you want to.

JohnnyB

WKR
Tikka T3x lite. My own experience with the T3x lite stainless in 300 win mag has been great. The out of box accuracy along with the weight has been incredible. If I buy anymore rifles in my lifetime they will likely be different caliber T3x's.

Aesthetics are personal but if you value functionality at a reasonable price try a Tikka.

Bones

WKR
I think for that price range, a Tikka has to be in the conversation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JWP58

WKR