S&W .45 M&P Shiled

Just picked one up- Anyone have issues with theirs or are they a pleasure to group.

I like the ability with this one to adj both front and rear sights left and right- something my other 10mm didn't have.

I also see a set of aftermarket height adj sights for this- has anyone had to utilize these for height?
Most hand guns I shoot tend to be low and left.

This is out to 25-45 yards

Last edited:
My Dept issued the S&W M&P .45 I purchased the 9mm Shield for off-duty carry, and also have the M&P .45 Compact. They both have fixed sights, and no thumb safety. We never had any problems with the weapons themselves, they always functioned properly even with minimal maintenance. The main downfall I found is the heavy (almost 8 pound ) trigger pull for the .45 pistol. I am a Range Officer/Firearms Instructor with the Dept, and we had difficulty getting some of the Deputies to be able to master the heavy trigger pull, and the recoil of the .45 I personally prefer the .45 for duty, but some officers can't handle the recoil.
We have since transitioned to the Glocks in 9mm (34 for duty, 17 for Detective/Plain Clothes), and we have not had any deputy fail to qualify when shooting the qualification course the first time with the newly issued pistol.
I personally still carry my M&P Compact .45 off-duty, and occasionally the 9mm Shield. I think they are good guns, and mine are more accurate than the Glocks I own and am issued.