New Rifle- Caliber/Load Discussion For Big Game

-sRo-

FNG
Hi all!

First post here.

I would like to talk about the Hornady Superformance 6.5 Creedmoor with 120gr. GMX copper alloy bullet. I am firing this round out of an 18" barrel with a Silencerco Omega silencer.

I don't have any experience with the round as of yet and I have no experience in hunting anything larger than a Whitetail Deer.

I am curious if this setup would be sufficient on big game including moose and elk shooting no further than 300 yards.

Here is what I have gathered from looking around online.

-The round is rated for big game up to 1500 lbs. because the GMX bullet has about a 95% weight retention. Out of a 24'' barrel the bullet is rated at 3050 fps at the muzzle. On average a 120gr 6.5 creedmoor will loose 21.8 fps per inch shorter barrel length. That puts my velocity at about 2920 fps at muzzle.

Thoughts on this setup?

Thanks!!

JigStick

WKR
Shot placement trumps displacement. If you got lucky enough to miss bone and delivered the energy to the heart muscle or lung tissue I would say your fine. I mean people kill moose and elk with bows all the time. The 6.5 Creed and 6.5x47 have both taken elk with good results. You have to know your limits and stick to it.

However, guides may have restrictions on minimum caliber size. So that could jam you up. And the other more likely scenario is the following:

You trained for the past year, and spent thousands of dollars on your hunt. You've been stalking for 7 days. And 35min before sun down on your last evening you see your trophy elk walk out and bugle at 550yds. At that moment youre going to wish your had brought a 300winmag