Scope recommendations for 6.5 CM Barrett Fieldcraft

texag10

WKR
I recently purchased a Barrett Fieldcraft in 6.5 CM with a 21" barrel. I plan to use the rifle for hunting mule deer, pronghorn, black bear, and the occasional cow elk as well as practicing shooting in the field to gain/maintain proficiency for hunting. Most hunting will be in my new home of CO, but I might go to WY for pronghorn on occasion. I would like to be effective for 400 yard shots on game when my skills are there and be able to stretch to 6-700 yards for practicing. I plan to buy a steel plate to set up for shooting. I'm new to bolt action rifle shooting, most of my experience is with pistols and ARs at 300 yards and in.

Currently I have a Bushnell 3-12 LRHS on backorder at a price of $1000. The shipping date I was given has come and gone, so I am going to miss the 30% rebate period (ends 3/30) that was originally factored into my price. I like the low profile elevation turret with zero stop, FFP reticle with useful holds, and capped windage turret of the LRHS, but it is a bit large and heavy (~25oz) for a 5 lb rifle.

I have the option to cancel my order and get a new NF 3-10 SHV with MOAR reticle for $799 shipped. I lose the zero stop and FFP reticle, but still have useful holds on the reticle. I have seen other people fashion a shim based zero stop for the elevation turret on the NF and would get a slightly more compact and lighter scope. I figure on longer shots on targets I can just pull the cap on the turret and dial elevation and use the has marks to hold wind with the reticle.

Any input on what I should do would be appreciated.

Either a Leupold VX3i 2.5-8 with a custom shop CDS installed or a Swaro Z3 3-9. I have the Swaro on that exact same rifle you have and a Leupold on the 6.5-55 Swede Fieldcraft