Starting point.

TwoTikkas

WKR
Hey guys. Been reading the footwear forum a lot lately. I'm looking to get my first pair of high end boots. I'm going to be limited to mail order and return to sort through a few. Okay with that aspect. What I'm curious about,is what to look for while they are still new. I've been wearing the import Danners since 2010. Various models. They are okay,but my ankles have been giving me fits. Sidehilling here and in W.Va has become a real problem. With the upcoming badlands deer hunt next fall,it's time to get with it. I hunt alone and frankly it's a little unsettling. The thought of an accident due to crappy footwear. So. My question is this. Where do I want to jump in for fit with new boots? When properly laced is a little heel slippage acceptable when new? Do toe boxes generally loosen up (widen) with break in? I'm a sock guy. Usually merino over silk or poly blend. So I realize ill need to have them on for the process of fitting. Not trying to be a pain. Just curious how these supportive mountain boots react to break in. Leaning toward Kenetrek Hardscrabble, Crispi Nevada or Lows Tibet first go around. Well have to see from there. Buy once,cry once. Thanks!

In my case with boots the heels do tighten up after breaking in and I the toes loosen up a little bit with the exception of boots with a full rand.

I've found that outside of obvious fit issues I can't judge a boot until they are well broken in. I'd add Hanwag to your list also.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
fit is going to be king and trumps everything- if your toes are cramped out of the box I would not count on breaking in to help- move to a different size or different boot

as you are unable to try on boots, be sure to purchase from an outfit that allows relatively liberal returns; some places pay for shipping both ways and allow generous time to return (although the wear needs to be inside)- zappos.com is one and they carry a pretty full line of boots