Trail running shoe reccomendations

SheepDogRob

Lil-Rokslider
In my experience, there are many great shoes out there for trail running. I've been wearing the Pearl Izumi N2's or N3's for a few years. Ran a 50k trail run last year and doing a 50 miler this summer. Depends on what works for your foot. Just make sure they're a good fit. Your foot should fit flat in the shoe as it would bare without being cramped.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

WyoElk

WKR
Just ordered a pair of the NB Leadville's. I'll try to let you know once they come in.

Been using these on the trails for about a week now and they have been real great. Assuming they hold up they might be my new go to shoe.

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
I've been using Casccadias since ~ 2010. I'm going to get a new pair soon. They have worked well for me up to 50 mile races. That's about the longest I do anymore.

Starting on my 2nd pair of Leadville V3's. Great shoe. Mostly trail running but have used it for backpacking and some hunting. I'm pretty limited in my options with wider feed (2E). I also tend to wear out the uppers the same way on all my shoes (mostly the inside of the shoe by the big toe knuckle). I hit the new shoes with some Shoe Goo right away to stave this off. On my old pair, with no Shoe Goo, the uppers didn't get a hole until last weekend on a 15 mile hike/snowshoe. The pair lasted about a year and I wore them hard.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
if you're going to be in trail runners a lot, I'd recommend getting a couple different pairs (different shoes). Varying the stack height, drop, etc has proven out to reduce injuries. You simply rotate them around through the week.

I would suggest buying them from running warehouse or other business that has a generous return policy- generous as in you can actually run/hike in them.

When comes to footwear, fit is king- doesn't matter what features a shoe has if doesn't fit.

Jimss

WKR