Training vs hunting boots

I am going to be in the market for new boots, and I am trying to decide what to do. I could either buy a simple pair of hiking boots for UA for now and buy a nice pair of high end boots when I am closer to my elk hunt in 2020 or hold off a bit longer and buy the nice boots now in hopes that they would hold up enough through the next few years to hunt with in 2020. I live on flatland, so I don't need a true mountaineering boot to train. But, I don't know if it is worth the extra $150 that i would spend on cheaper boots to save a good pair for my hunt. Have any of you guys ever bought a pair of boots just to train and had a pair dedicated just to hunting?

Be gentle, I am new to hunting anything other than Texas and don't know how hard I'll be on boots in the mountains.

CaseyU

WKR
Hold off and buy the boots your hunting in. Practice like you play. Believe it or not obviously each boot breaks into your feet but your feet also slightly break into your boots. Get the ones your waiting for. Buy once cry once. Best of luck buddy

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

xcutter

WKR
For me I can get probably 5 years out of a good high end leather boot. My feet like the Lowa's. I have the EVO Extreme's currently. Fit me great.

Personally I would want to have around 50 to 100 miles on a pair of boots before taking them on a western hunt. This gives them a good break in so you know they will not cause you any issues in the back country.

Make sure to follow care instructions. Example cleaning them and leather conditioning. They will last a good while. And when you drop $300 to $400 on a pair of boots they need to last as long as possible.

Hope this helps.

OP
Gerard Marcaurele