Review: Kenetrek Mountain Extreme Boots, By William Hanson

Justin Crossley

Administrator
Staff member
Kenetrek-Mountain-Extreme.jpg

Rokslide Moderator William Hanson decided it was time to step up to the next level with his boots this year. He was planning a backcountry elk hunt and knew he would need boots he could depend on. He decided on the Kenetrek Mountain Extremes and took the time to write a great review as he tested them out this year.

Check it out here: Review - Kenetrek Mountain Extreme

Last edited by a moderator:

N2TRKYS

WKR
I've been wearing mine the last couple of years in WY and it has snowed both years. I haven't had any issues with mine. I love them.

slowelk

WKR
What's best practice for needing to wear hard plastic, custom orthotics? Over or under insole, something else?

William Hanson (live2hunt)

Super Moderator
Staff member
What's best practice for needing to wear hard plastic, custom orthotics? Over or under insole, something else?
I am no expert on this but I would guess that you would take out the factory insoles and put in your custom Orthotics. The factory insoles have some shape and arch support built-in so I would think that your custom orthotics might not work on top of them.

Live2hunt custom shelters

I am no expert on this but I would guess that you would take out the factory insoles and put in your custom Orthotics. The factory insoles have some shape and arch support built-in so I would think that your custom orthotics might not work on top of them.

I used to wear custom plastic orthotics during my child and teenage years. I think a really good substitute are Super Feet insoles. I use them in ALL of my footwear. And yes, you would need to remove the boots existing inner sole because if you don't, the foot/heel will be too high leading to all kinds of other issues.

As for the boots, thank you for the review William. I hope you will not get upset if I provide my own 2 cents?