What is wrong with my feet? Eyelets touching- almost

This is the second pair of boots that have done this and I’m starting to think my feet might be odd. On both boots, after about 200 miles on them, the eyelets almost touch, and if i cinch the boots tight the eyelets do touch. This is with aftermarket insoles (superfeet copper) WITH the factory insoles in place. I have also sized down half size. Also: wearing fits light hiker socks. What the hell is wrong with my feet!?

These are Hanwag Alaskan boots.

OP
Cactus kid
9470afadf0c00e7c8c9eee14ead21a39.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nrh6.7

WKR
I'm no boot expert but could it be you have really narrow feet? Maybe look at a more technical/narrow lasted boot?

OP
Cactus kid
This was the aftermath of Meindl Denali that I had had for two years. The eyelets eventually touched and I thought I would be okay... Day 1 of a 7 day hunt.
c8f9c03e524c13621b8ea6c6fe2ce78e.jpg

This is the second pair of boots that have done this and I’m starting to think my feet might be odd. On both boots, after about 200 miles on them, the eyelets almost touch, and if i cinch the boots tight the eyelets do touch. This is with aftermarket insoles (superfeet copper) WITH the factory insoles in place. I have also sized down half size. Also: wearing fits light hiker socks. What the hell is wrong with my feet!?

These are Hanwag Alaskan boots.

Welcome to the Fred Bear Geek Club! My feet measure 12AA (thanks MOM). It has been a life long struggle to find adequate footwear that runs narrow. You will find what brands work and what brands don't. As a rule the European brands run narrower or are actually offered in a narrow.

wyodan

WKR
I have the same problem. I take up as much space as possible with insoles. I've been using a brand called DFP, and it's helped. But I've gone through a pile of boots to get some that fit. SOLE also makes a good high volume insole.