Questions moving to a stiffer boot

Tag_Soup

WKR
I have been running the Crispi Idaho GTX for two years now and am starting to see the need to go to a stiffer boot. I am leaning toward the Scarpa Grand Dru GTX or similar. For those that have made the jump to a stiffer mountaineering boot or anyone with experience on the Scarpa Grand Dru, do you think it is too large a jump to go from a relatively flexible boot to something so stiff? Should I be looking at something more like the Charmoz? I like the ankle support of a slightly taller boot similar to the Crispi Idaho's. Foot size is an 11.5 or 12 if that makes any difference.

wapitibob

WKR
I went from renegades and quest 4d's to the cevedale pro then hanwag Alaska. A strip of gorilla tape down the heel for the first cpl days was all I needed. Footbed made a difference too because of boot volume and insert volume.

OP
Tag_Soup

Tag_Soup

WKR
Super feet have made a big difference in my Idaho’s as far as arch support and ground feel are concerned. I will probably have to get into a pair and just try them out, but the grand DRU are a pretty expensive test drive if I can’t get comfortable with them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Muttly

WKR
Couple years ago, went from the Lowa gtx hunter to the Grand Dru. At this point, any boots in the future will be a replacement pair, or the orange version that let's you use auto crampons..
When I broke a couple toes last January, those stiff boots turned into my comfy shoes, let me navigate rough terrain without putting any extra pressure on the toes.
Normal use, weekends and such, I have gotten to like them better for extended wear than any of the softer shoes I have. The only thing I would, maybe, wish for, is a bit of spring or cushioning in the heel..
No buyers regret, and I am a cheapskate..

All that being said, think with a stiff boot, like hockey skates, it all boils down to fit whether you are going to love them or hate em.