Colorado Waterfowl in flight ID question?

I am new to waterfowl hunting and have got some private access on the river. I built a blind, got some decoys, learned to call and have had some really good success.

The season goes until January 28th but regulations state that no Scaup can be taken after January 9th. The problem is I have not shot any Scaup yet and wouldnt know one if I saw one.

We have been mostly shooting all the ducks that pass through and then learning what they are after the shot. Making jerkey and such from the divers that are "less than desirable" table fare. I dont want my season to be done on the 9th but Im just not good enough to know the ducks in flight before I pull the trigger. What would you do in my shoes?

I would get a good field guide and start practicing quick identification on the wing.

The Crossley ID Guide: Waterfowl just came out and looks to be a really good resource because he uses a bunch of pictures that illustrates what the bird would look like in many different viewing angles and positions.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

Hunter6

WKR
Just go a only shoot ducks you can ID for sure, like larger puddle ducks. Mallards are some of the easiest to I’d on the wing especially if they are talking coming in.

This might take some discipline by not shooting at first light and passing on a duck you can’t ID

I have been duck hunting all my life and can id them well in my option. But with the one pintail limit this year I pass on some ducks that might be a pintail (ie solo hen pintail verses solo widgeon, both common where I hunt). Still fun. Sometimes I bring a pocket pair of binocular’s to help with the identification.

Duck Unlimited has an app that has an of field guide in it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Look up some diver hunting videos on YouTube and you should get a pretty good idea of what they look like in flight.

Basically, a dark, football shaped duck coming in low and fast might be a scaup.

OP
durangobrad