Best pack for archery turkey hunting

Vangysway

FNG
Well, to start off, I'm a complete rookie, so you'll have to forgive my naivety.

My main focus will be Southern CA Mule Deer and CU Elk hunting, however, I plan on doing some Turkey hunting as well. I'd imagine a 5000+ ci long range pack is not the right fit for day hunting turkey, so I'm curious to know what you guys use to pack in decoys, possibly a blind, and hopefully a bird.

I'll be doing my first turkey hunt on the 14th for the Colorado Spring opener. This also happens to be my first hunt ever. I purchased a Badlands Superday pack for full day turkey hunts, but now I'm wondering if this was the correct choice or not.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to learning from all of you experienced gobbler hunters.

-Alex

I carry my blind, chair, tripod, etc in a Blind Hog. I don't typically have to hike real long distances so I don't know how carrying the pack all day would be, but to carry all that stuff at once, it works really well.

sveltri

WKR
I've never packed a blind in, but last year my 14'r worked great for 2 inflated Avian-X dekes. If I were to pack a blind in, and gear, I think I could come up with a good way to get the blind between the frame and bag, and then carry everything else in the bag (with garb-it if necessary). Good luck on your hunt!

x33BCmP.jpg

Last edited:

boom

WKR
funny. my turkey pack-in is relatively short, but it is my suckiest.

i use my Mystery Ranch Dragonslayer. i fill the inside with stuff. lunch, ammo, etc. calls, binos.

outside, i strap on stuff beverly hillbilly style. my ground blind, my tiny blind chair. this year, add my tripod i've converted to my shooting rest. i hang the decoys off the top of the ground blind. i must look like i am running away from home.