Most common things people pack they dont need??

Im finalizing my gear and im trying to get my pack as lite as possible. I am just curious what some things are that are pretty unnecessary that people might forget to cut out? Hunt will be 7 days backpack in Colorado. Depending on the amount of animals we see the first 4 days we may pack out and hike back in somewhere else.

7-Pointers

Lil-Rokslider
For me, I can't seem to ditch an old, mostly used up roll of duct tape. Tape is not super heavy, probably only 6 feet of tape on it, and I've crushed it flat to fit in the ziplock with my lighter, compass, vasoline cotton balls and a few other "what if" items, but I've been carrying it for 20 years and never once used it in the back-country. I've pillaged from it plenty of times when I run out of my main rolls at home, but not once on the trail.

Excess food. I'm the worst at this. By the end of the trip I'm basically throwing food at my buddies so I don't have to pack it out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

for me its been too many bullets but if your scope got slammed and was off it would be nice to have 10 bullets sprare. not enough 100 proof schnapps. The rest I have figured out the hard way. good luck bud.

colonel00

WKR
I've got a whole little pouch of stuff I hope I never use but it's there if I need it.

That said, food and clothing are always tough unless you hunt the same area every year and know exactly what you need for the expected weather conditions.

Elkangle

WKR
Extra batteries...anything back up belongs in the truck

If you think you may need a back up (insert yours) up grade or use it more to where you have confidence it won't fail

My biggest is an extra knife...but sentimentalrighty reasons keep me from ditching it

Felix40

WKR
Too many knives or knives that are too big. I've learned that as long as you don't lose it one knife and a way to sharpen it is enough.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"