Trekking poles

N2TRKYS

WKR
I've never used them before. Would it be worth it to buy some for the one week a year that I hunt out West? Thanks.

I only use mine going down steep terrain off trail. Half the time they just get carried around and I wonder why I brought them.

FNG
I use mine all the time. They really save the knees on the down hills and make climbing more efficient.

napeequa55

Lil-Rokslider
I use mine on even small day hikes.

They're a big help in steep terrain. If you buy a lightweight set and use them frequently you learn to use them bet efficiently and you'll forget you're even using them.

I also like to push with my arms when going uphill with a heavy pack - this seriously can help with leg fatigue when taking large steps up.

I'm 28, it's not just for older guys with sore knees.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I really need to use them more. I carried them all day today and had several up and downhill spots they would've been handy. I need to stop being so lazy.

OP
N

N2TRKYS

WKR
What would be a good set for my uses? This year I'll be in South-Central WY elk hunting in October. I'll be doing day hunts. Thanks.

Less than $30 at Costco.
47213837a424783e316949cefec94396.jpg
Carbon fiber, flick locks and they weigh something like 15oz. No reason not to have them.

Gutpile

Lil-Rokslider
I had never used them until this year. My girlfriend is an avid hiker and uses them religiously. This summer she bought me some and I have been using them quite a lot. I didn't realize how much of a difference they made until I forgot them on a steep 8 miler. They make a HUGE HUGE difference. I will never hike without them again.

I looked on their website and couldn't find them.
I haven't been to our local Costco in a few weeks but the last time I was there they had them. If you like, I could pick you up a pair next week and ship them down to you. I'm guessing about $15-$20 shipping? Anyway, let me know if your interested.

OP
N

N2TRKYS

WKR