OnX map app vs Garmin OnX map chip

TheCougar

WKR
I've got the OnX maps on my phone, but I have no experience with the Garmin chip. I'm going to Wyoming and trying to figure out if I need the chip, or if my iPhone OnX app will provide the same information. I'm going to a limited public land access unit, so I need the best road and landowner information possible, but I'd like to avoid the GPS if the information on the chip is redundant compare to what is on my phone. Does anyone have experience and can tell me how the app and the chip differ (even better if it is Wyoming specific)? Thanks

EsteemGrinders

Lil-Rokslider
Okay please, forgive me put did you try the search function. This same question has been brought up many times on here and many other places. Anyways to me there not even close. The chip sucks compared to the app.

OP
TheCougar

TheCougar

WKR
Okay please, forgive me put did you try the search function. This same question has been brought up many times on here and many other places. Anyways to me there not even close. The chip sucks compared to the app.

I'll take a link if you've got it. I searched the forums and didn't find the answer to this specific question: does the app and the chip show the same fidelity for landownership, names, borders, etc? Is there any reason or benefit to use the chip compared to the app?

Dameon

WKR
The app is better. Just download all the maps for offline use beforehand. Also, invest in a good battery pack charging system.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

svivian

WKR
As long as the app is for the state you are hunting you can download all the information could possibly need to your phone and use the app without service. If you don't download the area you'll be in though you are shit out of luck.