Trecking poles for tipi

amp713

WKR
I went through some older threads but didn't want to resurrect too old of posts so figured I'd start a new one.

Have debated poles for a long time and never done it, but now I'm going to be testing out a tipi set up so its time to jump on board. The tipi Im testing will be about 4.5 feet center pole height. I'd love to find a budget pole that will hold up but seeing as its not just a hiking aid and is now going to be my center point to my shelter I need something that is SOLID but also wont drain my wallet completely.

I have of course seen Easton mentioned, others I found while thread searching include: Cascade Mountain, multiple models of black diamond, Yukon Charlie and a few others have been thrown out there as well.

I have not began to run prices on models because I sometimes find what sounds like a good deal and then its my head and messes with my decision. I have no experience with trecking poles or tipis so Im keeping myself out of the decision until i get some good first hand experiences.

Im 5'7 though I don't think that influences a lot. If there was any way to use a single pole to achieve my tipi center pole height id be very interested in that. The idea to have the tipi still erect and still have a singular pole to hike with plus a back up center pole if something were to happen makes me happy in my theoretical scenarios.

Last edited:
The Cascades are good at $40ish you can not go wrong , i used them a lot this year beat em up hiking and for a shelter no issues. Get the quick locks , youll be hard pressed to leave them at home once you start using them

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro