Kestrel knife or Benchmade Altitude?

Thinking about getting a new knife and I’m debating between a Kestrel and a Benchmade Altitude. Which one would you ger?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My Dad bought a bunch of Kestrel's last year, we used them on several animals. They are incredibly sharp, I did a little drag test with almost no pressure applied on my finger and it cut deep enough to scar, completely unexpected. However it needed to be resharpened after every animal to retain that crazy cutting edge. I also had to be very careful skinning, as they went straight through hide without a problem. I was going to try and pop an atlas joint with one of his Kestrels this year, but I was worried it would snap.

I have been using a Bark River Mini-Fox River for a few years now. Also crazy sharp, but not as sharp as the Kestrel. I can do a drag test at the same-ish pressure and it will give me a "paper cut". It retains an edge for a few animals at a time, and is a stout little package so you can pop joints. Definitely heavy though, and harder to sharpen.

No experience with a Benchmade, sorry.

Mulga

FNG
Do you just need a blade or is it for skinning and breaking down an animal? From my experience any serious use blade (for skinning and breaking down) needs a good handle to avoid cramping; I guess it also depends on the size of your hands. My latest blade is a Spyderco PM2 with CPM S110V simply awesome.

i feel like benchmade was just getting plain old greedy when they worked out the price point for the altitude. BM’s fit and finish has really been sub par in the last few rounds, maybe this is their way of avoiding poorly ground and fitted handles while still commanding a BM price. Plus I hate coated blades, the edge is still going to rust and dull.

The kestrels intrigue me and I’m so tempted to just buy one for my kit to forget about and keep as backup.

I'd save some money and get a esee izula or a tyto.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk