Water filtration for really dirty water

codym

WKR
Hey guys I searched but couldn't find a thread with exactly what I needed. First I'm brand new to filtering water period. My scenario is as follows: I hunted a wilderness area for several years but all off horseback, we would pack in water. The only water in that area are dirt tanks that are very dirty, stagnant and contaminated by cattle and elk piss and shit. Now I got rid of the horses and would like to hunt the same areas. What type of filtration system is up to this type of work. I will be scouting another part of the unit that has some running water this summer but really want to be able to utilize my old areas. Thanks!!

Hey guys I searched but couldn't find a thread with exactly what I needed. First I'm brand new to filtering water period. My scenario is as follows: I hunted a wilderness area for several years but all off horseback, we would pack in water. The only water in that area are dirt tanks that are very dirty, stagnant and contaminated by cattle and elk piss and shit. Now I got rid of the horses and would like to hunt the same areas. What type of filtration system is up to this type of work. I will be scouting another part of the unit that has some running water this summer but really want to be able to utilize my old areas. Thanks!!

A filter is not going to remove piss from water, it just removes particles including parasite eggs, bacteria, etc. The liquid urine will go right through. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gorp2007

WKR
Most filters will also be ineffective against viruses, so you'll probably want to double-up with a chemical or UV treatment if you know that you're going to be drinking from a contaminated source.

boom

WKR
i have a FirstNeed. it's a water purifyer. i was told it was good for very unsanitary conditions. i bought it more for earthquake preparedness and third world travels. i have not tried filtering a horse trough. man,,what a mind-eff.

Akicita

WKR