I need a new headlamp

Majja

FNG
I have a great BD headlamp except the red light setting is very lacking. I would liek to try one with red or green. Options please.

Majja

icb12

FNG
Petzl Reactik + -Received one as a gift last year. Best headlamp I've ever used for recreation. Only thing I don't like is the white band. Mine is bloodstained forever.

Also like the original petzl tikka- have a couple of those.

I also have a petzl ultra vario for work that is a beast.

N2TRKYS

WKR
I've been using a Streamlight headlamp for over 10 years with no issues. I've tried a red light, but couldn't stand the red. The green light has been the best for me.

rayporter

WKR
you should narrow it down some, as there are a LOT of choices now days.

do you want flood for close work or throw for far far away
neutral or cool white
rechargeable
can you stand a strap over the top or you head [ I hate that]
batteries - matching what you already carry or something different

these are just a sample of decisions to make.

etsanger

FNG
I've been using the coast fl75r. It is a rechargeable but you can also use batteries and has a focusing beam with red and green lights too. Weighs 3.2 ounces

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

NDGuy

WKR
Love my Fenix HLR60. There were two separate threads a few months ago talking about them in detail.

204guy

WKR
Is the 1 lumen output of red light enough for you to see while you hike in the dark?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nope. Been doing a lot of crawlspace work and the battery life on the fenix is great but the red leds are for map reading... maybe.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Rommy

Lil-Rokslider
Nope. Been doing a lot of crawlspace work and the battery life on the fenix is great but the red leds are for map reading... maybe.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

It seems like the only headlamps with a red/green light bright enough to hike with are the ones that ONLY do red or green.

Pro953

WKR