Matt's 2017-2018 Gear Round-Up

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member
I was going through my notes from last season and found I had some experiences with various gear that didn’t make it into a full review, and I thought I would share my notes with Roksliders. Take a look, and I would love to hear if you have had any experience with these items.

Clothing:

Mountain Hardwear Dome Perignon beanie:

0PbNyXx.jpg

The Windproof Polartec fleece on this classic winter beanie never let me down. I used it for all my cold weather hunts. I found it especially useful in cutting the cold West Yellowstone winds during my son’s bison hunt. Not the lightest option available at a measured 3 ounces for Large, but pretty much impervious to cold.

Sitka Mountain Glove:

XMaSlZ8.jpg

I have been running these gloves since 2012, and can’t seem to kill them. This is my glove of choice until temps get really “Arctic.” They are durable, warm, and comfortable. The Mountain gloves have the dexterity needed to glass, chop wood, and tighten a cinch. An updated version is available in the current Sitka catalogue, but I just don’t need the update, yet.

OP
Matt Cashell

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member
SJK “Perception DST” Camo outerwear:

Late in the 2017 season, I got a few pieces from SJK’s new outerwear line. SJK put a lot of effort into designing their new camo, “Disruptive Shadow Technology,” with their former 82nd Airborne designer looking to natural shadows for inspiration. The result is a layered pattern with greens, yellows, and browns. I still feel like camouflage is generally more effective in hiding from humans than game, but I like the look of the Perception DST pattern, and it does seem to break up the silhouette to my eye. The first thing of note: I didn’t have any zipper failures with these pieces.

0nX88Jd.jpg

The Grit Jacket with synthetic fill: