Truck canopy

sparelink

FNG
Getting a new truck and will be putting a canopy on it. Looking at the mid rise models.

Anyone have any input on the differences between all of them? Any major difference? What recommendations do you all have?

AustinL911

Lil-Rokslider
I have no firsthand experience, but am in the same boat myself and have been researching the hell out of it. The consensus is ARE > everyone else. I plan on getting an MX series, outdoorsman windoors, carpeted headliner (and BedRug), rope lights, Cap Pack/Leer Locker, and sliding flipdown front window. I'm forgoing any other accessories from them because I'm confident I can do a better job myself. Eventually, I'll add some 12v accessory plugs, and tie the rear window release into the truck's tailgate release.

PNWGATOR

WKR
ARE makes a solid canopy. I have a snugtop. It’s okay. Bought the rig used and canopy was on. If it were my choice, I’d have chosen an ARE. Quality watertight shell and great hardware.

KJH

WKR
When you say "canopy" do you mean a soft topper/cap or a bed cover?

My last 3 pickups have had a Retrax (hard rollup) on them and I absolutely loved them... Totally bulletproof and secure. The downside is that that you lose 10+/- inches of bed space... and on a short box it is a pain sometimes. The most recent new pickup had a dealer installed soft rollup Truxedo on it. I always thought I'd replace it, but I've grown to absolutely love it because its easy to use and doesn't take up the space at the front. The downside is that they are less secure and you can't put things on or stand on them. I used to think the soft rollup covers were junk but my experience has changed my mind.

I've got an ARE and I really like it. It is very well lit and cozy.

Pu2Yvzxh.jpg

YJjPCvFh.jpg

QQetOlVh.jpg

UGKksZXh.jpg

oAdXCUCh.jpg

Here's how it looks now, leveled and new rubber.

JWP58

WKR
I have an a.r.e. aluminum topper with barn doors (and windows). Love it.