2018 Pack weight?

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
for September and five days, I'm right at 40 lbs- that's 1.5 lbs/day of food (7.5 lbs) and 1.5 liters of water (3.5 lbs), includes optics (10x42's on a tripod)- not much room to cut weight- pretty light pack (SG Krux/5300 bag), shelter (SO Silvertip) and bag (E&E Apex 20 degree quilt)

I'm a newb to back pack hunting, today I decided to make sure all my stuff fit in my pack and where I wanted to stash certain items and that opened a new can of worms. Wen't to weigh it and my cheap fishing scale blew up !

I am guessing it's 40 pounds with 3 liters water and 5 days of food. I am curious though so I guess I will have to get a scale and weigh it. My hunting partner is an experienced backpack hunter and a gram weenie I am curious what his will weigh in at. He is planning a through hike on the AT and I think he's shooting for around 20 for that trip.

ohoopee

WKR
I found lighterpack.com last week. Online spreadsheet that allowed me to enter my gear and weights. Use it
as a tool to see what I carry and lighten where I can. Really hard to get accurate until I weigh my pack while
headed out the door to see what last minute things I threw in!! Just finished my summer spreadsheet.

The reason it matters to me is that at 55 yrs young, cutting 10lbs helps me to enjoy what I love a little longer.

Muttly

WKR
Mile and a half up last week, right around 50 lbs, pushing 50. Came back down and started looking at lighter gear.
Two years ago and in the woods every weekend, the bitchin increased with the altitude, but it was doable. This year, wasn't out in the woods near as often, out a shape, and it showed.
15 years ago, wouldn't have cared about the weight. 5 years ago, would have cared but stubborn could still get me a long ways. Now, looking to drop some weight, get out more to get the endurance back. Pack, shelter, and pad look like the quickest places to dump weight and coin simultaneously..