Who hunts with a dirt bike?

After hunting Idaho over the last couple of years, I realized just how much a dirt bike can come in handy in some areas. Last week I picked up a 2003 KX125, primarily for that purpose. I plan on using it to extend my reach a bit more, before I hike in the last couple miles. Anyone else using a dirt bike to get around, especially in Idaho? Right now I'm working out the details for carrying gear. I'm switching to a rifle with a folding stock, and it will go in my Mountain Rambler sleeve flush with the bottom. I figure my bow will be carried in a similar way, but in the load panel. For other cargo, I'm going to build a rack up front that will mount to the number plate bolt hole and maybe to the triple clamp. I'm working out the details for the back too. I fab for a living, so nothing is out of the question. Once I have a design I like, I'll probably build aluminum versions to cut weight and make it nicer. Any suggestions from your experience on hauling gear and packing out animals on a bike are appreciated! I figure there will be a learning curve for the first year, but I'm really looking forward to covering a lot more mountain scouting and hunting.

xziang

WKR
Congrats. I don't use one but a coworkers relative uses one of those rokon 2wheel drive moto's to get up into the woods. With the smaller bike and gear that you'll want to carry may want to look into stiffening up the suspension I would think.

You don't have a lot of CC's to play with but it'll be better than walking the fire roads/trails. I've considered a dual sport bike before and have considered the Honda CRF250L for it is fuel injected and legal on the streets.

Good luck and have fun, also unsure of the laws there but might need to make sure you have a spark arrestor on it too. (real muffler)

Tdiesel

Lil-Rokslider