Snowshoeing

bigdesert10

Lil-Rokslider
I'm pretty new to snowshoeing, and my shoes are pretty entry-level. I'm curious how much of a difference the lift bars (under your heel) make when hiking at an incline. Anyone have any insight?

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
I'm pretty new to snowshoeing, and my shoes are pretty entry-level. I'm curious how much of a difference the lift bars (under your heel) make when hiking at an incline. Anyone have any insight?

for very steep longer ascents, they are great- not used a lot, but when I do I'm glad they are there

GLB

WKR
My Wife and I do a fare amount and enjoy it when we have good snow. I really like to ski and use a fat shorter ski with a Nordic binding for turing in deep snow. It gets me in the backcountry and I like to hit some of the small hills to get a Tele turn in or two. Both are great excercise and a good way to get out there when the snow is deep.

Anyone running tubs frontiers? First pair of shoes for me. Just using for day treks in the big Horns on forest roads and were ever looks fun off the trail or road. Won't be summiting Everest or packing my life on my back for 10 days. Me clothed at 200lbs then with my pack n some food for the day and just in case stuff I'm thinking about getting these in 30in flavor.
FRONTIER SNOWSHOE 30 Amazon.com : Tubbs Snowshoes Frontier Snowshoe : Sports & Outdoors

Edit- further research has me thinking the wilderness model will be better suited for my shenanigans

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Last edited:

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
not snowshoes, but close :) I have some Altai Hoks skis, that if it isn’t too steep or rugged, they do really well- more flotation than shoes and generally quicker

had them out last weekend with the wife- skied into USFS cabin

5Lqoovz.jpg

0r89gyP.jpg

Last edited:

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member