Talk to me about Gaiters

Mi_fiveo

WKR
I'm getting my gear dialed in for a Colorado elk archery hunt. I see a lot of people recommend gaiters, but I have never used them before. The plan is to be up in the mountains for 7-10 days and hunt from a spike camp. Are the gaiters worth adding to my gear list? Thanks for any info!

Never wore gaiters until about 10 years ago. The first hunt my son and I wore them on, it was like the planets had aligned and our eyes had been opened to how great they were. Your legs stay drier, your pants don't snag on underbrush, you can quickly cross a stream without the risk of getting water in your boots, more difficult for ticks to get up your pant legs, etc. I wear them on all of my excursions into the mountains or desert, summer or winter, I even run trails with gaiters to keep crap out of my shoes.

SWOHTR

WKR
I use the Sitka Stormfront gaiters. Great product! Durable, tall, waterproof. Expensive but they are the LAST gaiters you will buy. Their retention system is great and keeps them from falling down your calf. I won't leave without them.

My wife loves them and she doesn't hunt nor like the camo pattern. She had some OR Crocodiles and she steals mine when not looking...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FlyGuy

WKR