Cuben Fiber, Anyone Using It?

Jauwater

WKR
Introduced to Cuben Fiber this weekend. Held up in a Cuben Fiber tent during a three hour thunderstorm. Very impressed. He also was using a Cuben Fiber backpack. Anyone else using it? Any disadvantages other then cost or possibly appearance? Any ideas why more companies aren't using it?

Thanks for any input

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk

Matt21418

Lil-Rokslider
I have no experience with it but have heard cost and noise. From others I have heard that it is quite a bit noisier when it moves. But the trade off is the weight.

Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've owned several cuben fiber shelters and tarps; also various dry bags- the stuff is pretty tough and resilient, especially considering the weight- none of mine have been very noisy; the only con I can come up with is cost- most shelters are close to double the cost vs silnylon

have never owned a pack in cuben however

OP
Jauwater

Jauwater

WKR
I've owned several cuben fiber shelters and tarps; also various dry bags- the stuff is pretty tough and resilient, especially considering the weight- none of mine have been very noisy; the only con I can come up with is cost- most shelters are close to double the cost vs silnylon

have never owned a pack in cuben however
The one I stayed in seemed very sturdy against the wind. His didn't seem noisy, but his was very much broken in, and pitched very tight. You could pitch it with trekking poles, or with the carbon fiber poles to make it free standing. There not very appealing to the eye, but performance trumps.

OP
Jauwater

Jauwater

WKR
The pack was, I think, a 30L dump sack style that weighed 24oz. I'm not into light weight packs, but this guy was 70, and on the trail so whatever it takes.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
the cuben will definitely break in as it gets packed/unpacked, but even new I've never found much for noise