Colorado BHA Position on res/nonres tags - missing the big picture

TXCO

WKR
There was a thread on another forum about statement made by Colorado BHA advocating changes to the res/nonres tag allocation to be more inline with other Western States. While I am former resident of CO and an applicant across several western states (and thus deemed biased by some), I think the long term national opinion of hunting and public land access should be considered as part of these debates. Below is my response that i would like to share with others:
I have been a resident of CO in the past but am currently a nonresident. I dont understand how BHA can do everything they can to fight for lands to remain federally managed and then say that nonresidents should have less access to the public lands for hunting. The same resident of Colorado or New Mexico or etc rolls their eyes when they hear about Alaska residents complaining about possibly losing their OTC $40 sheep tag. Many people have given up ever hunting Oregon and know their odds are slim for New Mexico and other places. My position is that nonresident access should increase across all western states not be reduced inline to the minimalists. Yes, it could help the locals who want a tag but what does it do for the long term of hunting access, voting trends and generating and growing hunting participation. Yes it increases competition for tags but it also increases access to hunters across the country who's votes count where it matters most, in the national elections. Nothing guarantees every resident of the state, country, even world the opportunity to hunt for a bighorn, moose goat, etc. There just arent enough to go around. Additionally, it will increase revenue to local bodies who have to manage the wildlife because ultimately wildlife can be managed by the feds ie migratory birds, wolf, grizzly, polar bear. If you think about it, its not that farfetched to consider FWS actually controlling all tags on federal land some day.