Which Bike?

Mike Mongelli

Lil-Rokslider
Have to say I'm really liking the versatility and info I find on the krampus. Thought real hard about the Ecr but I heard a lot of people give negative feedback about the BB height. This was especially true when running any tire under a spec 3", and considering all of the cattle trails I'd ride I don't like the idea of more pedal strike than necessary. The krampus has all the big roller advantages of the 29+ tire in a slightly sportier feel with a lot of clearance and a lot of versatility for running a 2.3" tire for around town. Attachment points are a little more limited but there are work arounds for that. I think if I plan cross country trips where I'm on a bike for days at a time, all day long, for hundreds of miles, the Ecr would get my vote. I think the Krampus fits my needs better and offers more options and versatility.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

I have been riding a Jones Plus for a few years now and have ridden a Krampus several times. The Jones handles well and my only complaint with it is the low BB height even on the highest position. I still think you would be better off with a 27.5+ bike. There are more tire options and a standard 29er tire is closer in height making it easier to switch wheels without effecting BB height. The new Karate Monkey I mentioned back at the beginning of this thread is 27.5+ and they sell a rigid complete for around $1300. It also has fender and rack mounts.

Karate Monkey 27.5+ | Bikes | Surly Bikes

elkguide

WKR
Watch the way Richie Rude rides his carbon Yeti bikes on the Enduro World Series if you have any concern about the durability of carbon. Santa Cruz put out a couple impressive videos a couple years ago testing carbon and aluminum frames in their shop. I'll see if I can find them easily

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Have you priced one of those and I'm only talking about the models that we less than super stars can buy on the street.