Idaho considering limiting non resident opportunity

Gobbler36

WKR
The real problems lies within there not being enough states that have enough opportunity too many are in for the preference point monies with the hope of shooting some TV bull, so then we get all those guys coming to CO or ID BAR I don't know anyone that comes from ID to CO to hunt a otc tag.... they would need to be high on acid. Hell if I was a resident in a state where I couldn't get an elk tag but every other year at best I'd be doing the same thing, so I feel like the focus should be animal populations supporting the amount of hunters in those areas and quality of experience next area should be trying to get those residents that live in states where they are more stingy with tags to offer more opportunity for their locals

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
The great western Expo was born with the idea of taking non resident tags and using them to raise money for conversation and provide more opportunities for residents. Maybe this is the beginning of end for managing for opportunity in Idaho

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

martin_shooter

Lil-Rokslider
These new proposed rules affect a small amount of hunters. Between the current unlimited control hunts (which this rule targets) it's about 2k non-residents. I have no problem sharing areas with guys that do homework and get it done. What I DO have issue with is outfitters that tell you they:
A) Have a no-compete lease (within federally designated wilderness, and we were both residents)
B) Have to compete against hunters (RESIDENTS) who are taking food off their table
C) Have exclusive water rights (to a spring within federally designated wilderness)

All of the above and other constant harassment has been experienced by my partner and I. This particular outfitter has shot deer out from under us as well as told their hunters we are 'assholes hunting their spot'.