The 'New' generation and the 'Web o Net'

I was just talking to my buddy today and its becoming really apparent that the new generation of hunters are trying to 're-invent' the sport.
Just because they hear or read about something on the Web o Net, it must be new...

...Everything from gear, and tactics to knowledge of the animals?

I am going to take a different line on this one fellas. I am in my early 40s. I grew up fishing a bit and hunted rabbits and birds here and there but never deer or anything bigger. About 3 years ago I got interested in deer hunting and started reading, watching and internetting to try to figure it out. About 2 years ago to the day, I bought a bow and have two seasons, 5 whitetail, two squirrels and, as of this weekend, a groundhog under my belt.

I am learning fast and planning for trips out west to take it to the next level.

Although I have talked to everyone under the sun, I am mostly self taught over the past few years. 6 hunting magazine subscriptions, dozen of books, 2-3 dvds, hunting shows, a shit ton of you tube videos and a mega shit ton of internetting.

I can honestly say, I wouldn't be as far along as I am if it weren't for the internet in particular, and even more particularly sites like these. I am not sure how much new information the internet is pumping out or even how much of it is really worthwhile, but it creates an access point for knuckleheads like me who are trying to figure it out.

Good work Desk Jockey!!! Congrats on your success and hopefully there is much more ahead for you!

OP
cnelk

cnelk

WKR
Brad, instead of coming off like your bitching and moaning, why not step up to the plate and pass alone some of those skills, knowledge and improve so new-generation (which there are less and less of) abilities in the areas that actually count.

I didnt mean to sound like bitching and moaning, but man its heartbreaking to see all the money spent on stuff that are in hopes to get the inside track.