Backpacking vs backpack hunting

I want to carry the weight whenever I can. Its all prep for the big moment. I often take crap backpacking I don't really "need" just for the conditioning.

Jauwater

WKR
I've been using a Duplex Frame for both for bout 3 years now. I backpack far more then I hunt. I'm averaging about 500+ miles a year on the trail. I ran a 30L Osprey Dry Sack sandwiched between the Duplex frame and an HPG Aston Pocket for about a 20 day total trip on the AT this year. Even at full capacity I was lighter then most people on the trail, just under 25lbs. So you can still be, fairly ultralight, with the hunting frames out there. And that was with the Tactical Duplex Frame which is slightly heavier then the Hunter Duplex. I remove the belts though when I'm backpacking. As someone stated above, I have pouches/stuff sacks/pullouts for all my different gear so I'm not having to rearrange or reorganize all my stuff according to which season it is. Season to season most of my hunting equipment stays the same, but I even dedicated pouches, and sacks for small particular items for each season (whitetail/bear/duck/dove/coyote/small game). So I basically have a Duplex Frame/Nomad(which I use for hunting)/30L&20L Osprey Roll Top Dry Sacks(I typicallly use alone backpacking or in between Nomad wings hunting)/HPG Aston Pocket(used as a compression panel. this item is strictly used backpacking cause I need something to compress dry sack and it has pockets)/then a bunch of stuff sacks, and pouches organizing out all my gear. I can be loaded up for a backpacking trip or hunting trip in minutes notice, I like to live spontaneously.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

texag10

WKR
I use just one pack for everything. SO Revolution frame with a fortress 4800 bag and 2 hipbelt pockets. ~4.5 lbs empty, comfortable with just a water bladder and some layers up to a sandbag and some weight plates or a bone in elk hindquarter.