Truck bed camper setups

I’ve been running a Capri camper for the past 7 or 8 years, and really love it. You won’t find a better camper for the money IMO.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rchr

FNG
A friend has a set up similar to Brendan. He packs everything under a piece of plywood that he has set up in the back of his truck and inside his truck bed camper. When he drives and gets tired he pulls over and sleeps in the back of his truck until he is ready to go. He even has a single burner set up so he can cook something fast and easy. He will make breakfast, lunch or dinner on the side of the road and is ready to go in a instant.

Tony Trietch

Part Time Bow Hiker
Staff member
You and I have this in common!
I however have the back of my truck packed solid with gear and coolers leaving no space under the topper for me to sleep. What I do is keep space behind my drivers seat so I can lower and lean back the seat all the way. I keep a blanket and pillow in the cab and that's my napping location on the drive out and back. The seat gets pretty close to flat, close enough for me to snooze semi comfy. For reference I am in a 2017 Ford Super Duty, not sure how flat the GMC seats go..

Anyone do this for traveling purposes? Since I live in central Ohio and have started taking on this western hunting thing, I've come to appreciate just how long a 20-32hr drive can be. Renting a hotel for a whole night is a waste of money when all I'd really like is a 3-4hr nap so I can get back on the road. I don't want to take the time to setup a campsite at a rest stop with the loons that hang out at those places. So, I've been thinking about truck camping setups. I took to youtubes, which surprisingly has quite a few vids on there of various setups, however, none seem to be hunting related.