Finally! Over the gear hurdle

Xxtavixx

Lil-Rokslider
Ive been gearing up for over two years for an elk hunt. Ive been researching and watching sales. Picking out what I want and waiting for great sales. Some gear just rarely or never goes on sale and those are generally expensive or high quality items. Today, I upgraded my binocs to Swarovski SLC 8x42 with a 10% off coupon.

Optics were my big gear hurdle (money wise). Ive got a Swarovski z5 scope that Ive had for a few years now that really opened the door to my understanding the importance of good optics. I picked up a Razor Hd 16-48x65 spotting scope a few weeks ago. I felt that binocs were going to be the most important part of this journey and it was slowly eating away at me. During the last year Ive been focusing on binocs heavily, and now I finally feel that Im getting there.

Next up, order a bag for my Kifaru frame and a sleep systen!

Felix40

WKR
Are you going on a guided hunt that is already scheduled? Reason I ask is you may be served just as well by spending less on gear and going hunting more often. Just a thought. Nice gear is awesome but doesnt make stuff dead.

AdamW

WKR
Are you going on a guided hunt that is already scheduled? Reason I ask is you may be served just as well by spending less on gear and going hunting more often. Just a thought. Nice gear is awesome but doesnt make stuff dead.

+1. I spent a modest amount on good gear before my first elk hunt last year and none of that gear helped me along in not killing (or seeing) an elk. :D

Good gear is great to have but don't let it keep you from hunting and getting out there. That said, I bought a shelter, stove and then just the other day, some First Lite. :D

Whatever you do, have fun man!

OP
X

Xxtavixx

Lil-Rokslider