New hunting rifle

Ok guys I need some opinions from the gun guys on here. Looking to go out west multiple times over the next couple years. I will be trying to start with antelope then move on to elk and mule deer. I am looking to buy a new rifle chambered in 6.5. I allready have a .308 and 7mm rem mag. This will be used as a lightweight cover a ton of ground kind of rifle (similar to mountain rifle). I've studied alot on the Kimber Montana and ascent/Adirondack. Way to many displeased people it looks like with these guns and since I am no expert, i am not sure if it's the right gun for me. It has the camo finish I want and the lightweight plus doesn't look it needs a ton of upgrades... so after more research, I am now looking at a tikka t3x lite stainless. I will buy the aftermarket kit for this. My biggest question is, what is the reason people drop another $800 on the McMillan stocks? It's literally more expensive than the rifle itself?? I'm confused here. Would I be smart to buy the rifle, add the upgrades then add the stock a year or 2 later? I allready have great vortex razor scope new in the box just waiting. Am I better off going with the sako? Or would that need upgrades as well? I am looking to shoot out to 400 yards to start and maybe push that as I get used to the gun. Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Why not put a light weight McMillan on your 7mm and call it a day? I would look at a Tikka. Light, accurate and affordable. 400 yards is not that far and can be handled out of the box. IMHO.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

JP100

WKR