Input on new construction job

I assume that there are several members that work in the construction field, so I wanted to ask for some insight on my new job.
So, I have a degree in Exercise Physiology and have worked the last 8 years as a Clinical Exercise Phys and a fitness coach. The issue has become, both of these jobs are turning into dead ends, no advancement opportunity. My wife's cousin is the CFO for a major industrial construction company and encouraged me to look into opportunities with them. So, after a phone interview and a meeting with their Field Operation Manager, I have unofficially gotten a job as a Assistant Superintendent, they are deciding where and which Superintendent to put me with. I will start at 22/hr full-time, after 3 months full benefits, 401k etc. After 6 months a review and raise. What should I expect to do in my role, and what would you expect for advancement and such? Any other advice?

Being in construction my whole life, I had a reply all typed out. Decided not to post it as all these guys would just accuse me of being a 'negative Nancy' again. Good luck with your new venture.....

cnelk

WKR
Basically you'll be doing stuff to support the Superintendent - processing change orders, updating construction schedules, scheduling sub-contractors, ordering materials, going to meetings, safety inspections, phone calls, emails ....

You'll be the one that people call when when something goes wrong... which is a lot

Get the experience, you may like it

Dunndm

WKR
It's a full time babysitting service with most of the guys lazy and not caring.
I'm a general Contractor in LA.. not sure where you are but if you are in LA or any sanctuary city. Learn Spanish or your job is going to be miserable.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

KurtR

WKR